PPP leads in Malir’s NA-238

July 23, 2018

In Malir’s NA-238, Syed Rafi Ullah of the PPP is leading with 5,950 votes followed by the PTI’s Zunaira Rehman, the only woman in the race, who bagged 832 votes as of 2:30 a.m.

In the last elections, ANP Sindh president Shahi Syed contested against Maulana Aurangzeb Farooqi from this constituency. Farooqi is a leader of the ASWJ and contested the election on the ticket of the proscribed outfit’s electoral platform, Pakistan Rah-i-Haq Party.

The constituency comprises multi-ethnic and low-income neighbourhoods, such as Ibrahim Hyderi, Rehri Goth, Cattle Colony and Jumma Goth. A total 234,616 voters are registered, of whom 141,814 are men and 92,802 women. There are 158 polling stations in the constituency that was previously known as NA-254.

Gul Faraz Khan contested the election on the MQM’s ticket. PSP gave the ticket to Rao Muhammad Zubair and PPP fielded Syed Rafi Ullah.

(This is a developing story)

Read our election results here.



Comments are closed.