Tuesday, July 14, 2020  | 22 ZUL-QAADAH, 1441
Samaa TV
Facebook Twitter Youtube
HOME > Uncategorized

Recent winners of Nobel Medicine Prize

SAMAA | - Posted: Oct 6, 2015 | Last Updated: 5 years ago
Posted: Oct 6, 2015 | Last Updated: 5 years ago
Recent winners of Nobel Medicine Prize


STOCKHOLM: Here is a list of the winners of the Nobel Medicine Prize over the past 10 years, following the latest award on Monday:

2015: William Campbell (US citizen born in Ireland) and Satoshi Omura (Japan), Tu Youyou (China) for their discoveries of treatments against parasites.

2014: John O’Keefe (Britain, US), Edvard Moser and May-Britt Moser (Norway) for discovering how the brain navigates with an “inner GPS”.

2013: James E. Rothman, Randy W. Schekman and Thomas C. Suedhof (US) for work on how the cell organises its transport system.

2012: Shinya Yamanaka (Japan) and John B. Gurdon (Britain) for discoveries in cell programming.

2011: Bruce Beutler (US), Jules Hoffmann (France) and Ralph Steinman (Canada) for work on innate immunity.

2010: Robert G. Edwards (Britain) for the development of in-vitro fertilisation.

2009: Carol Greider and Jack Szostak (US), Elizabeth Blackburn (Australia-US) for work on how chromosomes are protected.

2008: Francoise Barre-Sinoussi and Luc Montagnier (France), Harald zur Hausen (Germany) for work on viruses causing cervical cancer and the discovery of human immunodeficiency virus.

2007: Mario Capecchi (US), Oliver Smithies (US), and Martin Evans (Britain) for work on gene modifications in mice using embryonic stem cells.

2006: Andrew Z. Fire (US), Craig C. Mello (US) for their discovery of RNA interference. –AFP

FaceBook WhatsApp

Tell us what you think:

Your email address will not be published.

FaceBook WhatsApp

About Us   |   Anchor Profiles   |   Online Advertising   |   Contact Us   |   Feedback   |   Apps   |   FAQs   |   Authors   |   Comment Policy
Facebook   |   Twitter   |   Instagram   |   YouTube   |   WhatsApp