Saturday, January 22, 2022  | 18 Jamadilakhir, 1443
Samaa TV
Facebook Twitter Youtube
HOME > Cricket

Sindh slip to third spot after KP defeat

Side register a seven-wicket victorycrcr

SAMAA | - Posted: Oct 9, 2021 | Last Updated: 3 months ago
Posted: Oct 9, 2021 | Last Updated: 3 months ago

Photo: PCB

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa registered a comprehensive seven-wicket victory against Sindh as semi-final qualification in the National T20 is all set to go down to the wire at the Gaddafi Stadium.

The team also topped the points table on better run-rate having the same number of points (10) as Central Punjab, Sindh and Northern.

On Saturday afternoon, KP denied Sindh an opportunity to seal a place in the last four. In the second match under floodlight, Northern can become the first side to confirm a semi-final place if they defeat Balochistan.

Northern’s failure to win will mean barring Southern Punjab, the remaining five sides will stay in contention for places in the 12 October semi-finals.

Put into bat on Saturday afternoon, Sindh recovered from 75 for four in the 12th over to finish at 152 for six – thanks to an fine 37-ball 54 with five fours and a six by Shan Masood and 34 not out by Anwar Ali off 27 balls.

Their 32-run fifth wicket partnership came at the back of a 51-run second-wicket stand between Shan and Sharjeel Khan before Sindh lost their way.

Iftikhar Ahmed was the most successful Khyber Pakhtunkhwa bowler with two for 25, while Niaz  Khan and Asif Afridi scooped a wicket each.

In their turn at the wicket, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa slipped from 48 for one to 54 for three before Sahibzada Farhan and Iftikhar Ahmed held the innings together and took them home with 12 balls to spare.

Farhan scored 49 out off 37 balls with five fours and a six and Iftikhar completed a good day in the office with a 34-ball 55 not out that included five fours and three sixes. He was later adjudged player of the match.

FaceBook WhatsApp

Tell us what you think:

Your email address will not be published.

FaceBook WhatsApp

Sindh, KP, National T20, Cricket
About Us   |   Anchor Profiles   |   Online Advertising   |   Contact Us   |   Feedback   |   Apps   |   FAQs   |   Authors   |   Comment Policy
Facebook   |   Twitter   |   Instagram   |   YouTube   |   WhatsApp