Friday, September 24, 2021  | 16 Safar, 1443
Samaa TV
Facebook Twitter Youtube
HOME > Cricket

Faheem, Fakhar star as Pakistan clinch T20I series

Visitors register three-wicket win in fourth fixture against South Africa

SAMAA | - Posted: Apr 16, 2021 | Last Updated: 5 months ago
Posted: Apr 16, 2021 | Last Updated: 5 months ago

Photo Courtesy: ICC/ Twitter

A brilliant bowling performance from Faheem Ashraf and Hasan Ali along with a timely half-century from Fakhar Zaman was enough for Pakistan to secure a T20I series triumph against South Africa.

While chasing a modest total of 145 in the fourth fixture at Centurion, the Men-in-Green lost an early wicket of in-form wicketkeeper-batsman Mohammad Rizwan who went back to the pavilion without scoring.

However, a 92-run partnership for the second between Fakhar and captain Babar Azam put the visitors on the brink of a series win. But a flurry of wickets put South Africa right back in the match.

However, a couple of no-balls in the penultimate over followed by a six from Mohammad Nawaz helped the Green Caps in finally securing a win in the match and subsequently in the series as well.

Zaman finished the innings with the top score of 60 off just 34 balls, which included five fours and four sixes.

For the Proteas, Sisanda Magala and Lizaad Williams were the pick of the bowlers as they claimed two wickets each.

Earlier, after being asked to bat first, South Africa were bowled out for just 144 in the final over of the innings.

Rassie van der Dussen was the star performer for the home team as he scored 52 off 36 balls with the help of five fours and two sixes.

For Pakistan, pacers Faheem Ashraf and Hasan Ali were the most successful bowlers as they claimed three wickets each.

Hope you enjoyed our coverage. We will join you for the upcoming T20I series against Zimbabwe. Till then, it’s goodbye from us here.

SIX and that’s it. Finally a win for Pakistan, who made a game out of nothing by playing some reckless shots.

OUT! Magala gets another one. Faheem departs after scoring seven.

PAK 129-7 (18.2 overs)

OUT! Another one bites the dust. Asif Ali departs after scoring just five.

PAK 115-6 (14.3 overs)

OUT! Tabraiz Shamsi gets another big one. Mohammad Hafeez departs after scoring just 10.

SA 110-5 (13.4 overs)

OUT! Haider Ali’s disappointing series concluded today as he went back to the pavilion after scoring just three.

PAK 104-4 (11.2 overs)

OUT! Williams get another one as in-form Babar Azam departs after scoring 24.

PAK 99-1 (10 overs)

OUT! Williams takes the wicket of Fakhar Zaman who departs after scoring a brilliant 60.

PAK 92-2 (9.2 overs)

With that single, Fakhar Zaman completes a brilliant half-century off just 27 balls.

PAK 80-1 (8 overs)

At the end of the powerplay:

PAK 57-1 (6 overs)

OUT! Huge wicket for the home team as Foruin removes Rizwan, who went back to the pavilion without scoring.

PAK 1-1 (0.2 over)

We will soon join you for the second innings.

That’s a rather disappointing end to the innings for the home team.

OUT! Haris Rauf gets the final wicket as Tabraiz Shamsi departs without scoring.

SA 144 (19.3 overs)

OUT! Shaheen Shah Afridi gets his first wicket on the day as he removes Fortuin, who departs after scoring eight.

SA 142-9 (18.3 overs)

OUT! Hasan Ali gets another one. Magala departs after scoring seven.

SA 141-8 (18 overs)

OUT! Hasan Ali removes Phehlukwayo, who departs after scoring just one.

SA 122-7 (15.5 overs)

OUT! Hasan Ali gets the wicket of Wilder who departs after scoring six.

SA 121-6 (15.4 overs)

OUT! Faheem gets another one. Top bowling from the right-arm pacer as he removes Linde who departs after scoring just three.

SA 119-5 (15 overs)

OUT! Haris Rauf gets a huge wicket as in-form Van der Dussen departs after scoring brilliant 52.

SA 112-4 (13.3 overs)

OUT! Faheem gets another big one as South Africa captain Klaasen departs after scoring just nine.

SA 109-3 (12.5 overs)

At the half-way stage:

SA 85-2 (10 overs)

OUT! Faheem Ashraf gets a big one as dangerous Janneman Malan after scoring 33.

SA 73-2 (8.3 overs)

So that’s a good end to the powerplay for the home team.

SA 53-1 (6 overs)

OUT! Nawaz gets a big one as dangerous Markram departs.

SA 16-1 (2 overs)

Here is the playing XI of Pakistan.

Here is the playing XI of the home team for this fixture.

TOSS: The news from the centre is that Pakistan captain Babar Azam has won the toss and elected to bowl first.

On the other hand, Proteas are coming in the fixture knowing that they have to win the match in order to avoid a series defeat.

The Men-in-Green are coming in the contest with an eye on winning the series as they are 2-1 up after securing a thumping nine-wicket win in the third match.

Welcome to the live blog for the fourth T20I between South Africa and Pakistan.

FaceBook WhatsApp

Tell us what you think:

Your email address will not be published.

FaceBook WhatsApp
About Us   |   Anchor Profiles   |   Online Advertising   |   Contact Us   |   Feedback   |   Apps   |   FAQs   |   Authors   |   Comment Policy
Facebook   |   Twitter   |   Instagram   |   YouTube   |   WhatsApp