Wednesday, September 30, 2020  | 11 Safar, 1442
Samaa TV
Facebook Twitter Youtube
HOME > Cricket

ECB confirms Australia tour for T20I, ODI series

SAMAA | - Posted: Aug 14, 2020 | Last Updated: 2 months ago
Posted: Aug 14, 2020 | Last Updated: 2 months ago
ECB confirms Australia tour for T20I, ODI series

Photo Courtesy: Facebook / @cricketworldcup

Australia’s limited-overs tour of England will go ahead this month at bio-secure venues, officials said Friday, after its players were given government clearance to travel.

The confirmation ensures Australians will pad up for their first internationals in nearly six months, with Glenn Maxwell, Nathan Lyon and Marcus Stoinis recalled to the squad, while Usman Khawaja and Travis Head missed out.

Australia was originally scheduled to play three one-day and three Twenty20 matches against England in July, but the trip was postponed due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Detailed biosecurity plans have now been agreed to ensure it can go ahead, including government exemptions, which are required for Australians to leave the country. The team has also agreed to self-quarantine for 14 days on their return.

They depart from Perth on August 23 en route to Derby ahead of four practice matches—three T20s and a one-dayer—before three T20Is and three ODIs in Southampton and Old Trafford, which have hotels on site.

“We are very excited to be heading to England and to get back into the international fray,” said Cricket Australia (CA)’s interim chief Nick Hockley. “We congratulate the England Cricket Board on leading the resumption of the game in a way that places the health and safety of players and staff at its core.”

His opposite number at the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) Tom Harrison said Australia was owed “a significant debt of gratitude” for making sure the tour went ahead.

“Their cooperation to ensure these matches are staged is crucial to cricket in this country,” he added. “It will also provide much-needed financial aid at all levels of cricket in England and Wales as we work through the challenges in front of us.”

Australia named a 21-man squad with Maxwell, Lyon and Stoinis among notable inclusions, along with three debutants—Josh Philippe, Daniel Sams and Riley Meredith.

Australia’s T20 and ODI squad:

Aaron Finch (captain), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Riley Meredith, Josh Philippe, Daniel Sams, Kane Richardson, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa

FaceBook WhatsApp

Tell us what you think:

Your email address will not be published.

FaceBook WhatsApp

England vs Australia 2020, Australia squad, Australia tour of England 2020, ECB confirms Australia tour,
About Us   |   Anchor Profiles   |   Online Advertising   |   Contact Us   |   Feedback   |   Apps   |   FAQs   |   Authors   |   Comment Policy
Facebook   |   Twitter   |   Instagram   |   YouTube   |   WhatsApp