Sunday, August 9, 2020  | 18 Zilhaj, 1441
Samaa TV
Facebook Twitter Youtube
HOME > Sports

Deccan Gladiators triumph over Qalandars in T10 League

SAMAA | - Posted: Nov 19, 2019 | Last Updated: 9 months ago
Posted: Nov 19, 2019 | Last Updated: 9 months ago
Deccan Gladiators triumph over Qalandars in T10 League

Photo Courtesy: T10 League/Twitter

Deccan Gladiators picked up a 24-run victory over Qalandars in their T10 League fixture in Abu Dhabi on Tuesday.

The Gladiators, electing to bat first, finished at 128-4 with wicketkeeper-batsman Mohammad Shahzad top scoring with a 21-ball 57 with three boundaries and six maximums to his name. He put on a 60-run opening partnership with skipper Shane Watson (30 off 15).

After a mini collapse, Ben Cutting went on to score a 10-ball 21 with the help of two boundaries and a six.

Qalandars struggled to keep up with the required run rate and were 33-2 in 4.1 overs. Skipper Dawid Malan and Phil Salt put on an unbeaten 71-run partnership but it wasn’t enough to secure a victory as they finished at 104-2.

In the second fixture of the day, Northern Warriors notched up a six-wicket win over Delhi Bulls.

The Delhi side, being sent in to bat first, managed 110-6 with skipper Eoin Morgan leading from the front with his 28-ball 56 which came with the help of three boundaries and five sixes. He put on a crucial 49-run partnership with Angelo Mathews after his side were struggling at 21-3 in 2.2 overs.

Chris Green returned with splendid figures of 3-8 in his allotted two overs.

Nicolas Pooran and Lendl Simmons got Northern Warriors off to a positive start with their 48-run partnership before the latter was dismissed. The wicketkeeper batsman then scored 30 runs together for the second wicket with Andre Russell, who was dismissed for his blistering 22-run knock which came off just eight balls.

The side had a slight wobble as they lost two wickets but Pooran remained unbeaten till the end with his 25-ball 56, which included four fours and five maximums, to end the game with an over to spare.

In the final game of the night, Bangla Tigers emerged victorious over Team Abu Dhabi by 27 runs.

Being asked to bat first, Bangla Tigers were off to a solid start with openers Rilee Rossouw and Andre Fletcher scoring 45 run before the latter was dismissed for a 16-ball 42.

They were then carried forward by Rossouw and Colin Ingram (23 off 14) as they put on a 53-run partnership for the second wicket. Ben Laughlin claimed the wickets of Ingram and Tom Moores in the eighth over and the side found themselves at 98-3.

Rossouw remained undefeated till the end and went on to top score with unbeaten 44 from 21 deliveries before the side finished at 129-3.

There were no significant contributions by the Abu Dhabi side in the run chase except for Avishka Fernando, who made a 21-ball 51 with the help of six maximums. His opening partner Luke Wright managed 20 off 10.

The side lost wickets at regular intervals as Qais Ahmed was the standout bowler with figures of 3-8 in two overs.

FaceBook WhatsApp

Tell us what you think:

Your email address will not be published.

FaceBook WhatsApp

T10 League, Cricket, Abu Dhabi, Qalandars, Deccan Gladiators, Delhi Bulls, Northern Warriors, T10 League highlights, T10 League match highlights, T10 League scorecards,
About Us   |   Anchor Profiles   |   Online Advertising   |   Contact Us   |   Feedback   |   Apps   |   FAQs   |   Authors   |   Comment Policy
Facebook   |   Twitter   |   Instagram   |   YouTube   |   WhatsApp