Tuesday, March 9, 2021  | 24 Rajab, 1442
Samaa TV
Facebook Twitter Youtube
HOME > Sports

All matches of Quaid-e-Azam Trophy’s first round end in draws

High-scoring fixtures see batsmen enjoy themselves as bowlers struggle

SAMAA | - Posted: Sep 17, 2019 | Last Updated: 1 year ago
Posted: Sep 17, 2019 | Last Updated: 1 year ago
All matches of Quaid-e-Azam Trophy’s first round end in draws

Photo courtesy: PCB/Twitter

All three matches played in the first round of the revamped 2019 Quaid-e-Azam Trophy ended in high-scoring draws as batsmen cashed in on flat surfaces.

Pakistan skipper Sarfaraz Ahmed’s Sindh took on Balochistan at the UBL Complex but not even two innings could be completed as just 14 wickets fell across the four days.

Sindh, batting first, made 473-5 (dec) after openers Abid Ali and Khurram Manzoor put on a 212-run opening stand. Manzoor was finally dismissed for 105 but Abid went on to score a mammoth double-century as he finished the innings on an unbeaten 249.

Yasir Shah took three wickets for Balochistan but finished with expensive figures of 3-127.

In reply, Balochistan were on 355-9 at stumps on day four. Their innings was held together by the excellent Imam-ul-Haq, who made 152.

Pakistan batsman Asad Shafiq was the surprise star of the show for Sindh with the ball as he claimed 3-85.

Meanwhile, at the Abbottabad Cricket Stadium, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa came the closest to a victory after they made 526-9 (dec) and managed to bundle out Northern for just 262. Following in, the Northern side had to battle on the final day to save the game but managed to do so after Asif Ali and Mohammad Nawaz both scored centuries to guide them to 433-6 at the close of play.

Over at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore, the Punjab derby also ended in a drab draw as just two innings could be completed.

Sami Aslam’s excellent unbeaten 243, alongside Adnan Akmal’s 113, took Southern Punjab to a mammoth total of 467. Central Punjab managed to eclipse that as five of their batsmen made half-centuries on their way to 473.

The game had become academic by the fourth day as Southern Punjab finished on 107-1 at stumps.



FaceBook WhatsApp

Tell us what you think:

Your email address will not be published.


Samaa Breaking, Samaa Sports Islamabad United, PSL,2019, Pakistan Super League, Karachi Kings, Peshawar Zalmi, Quetta,Gladiators, T20 Sarfraz Ahmed, Shoaib,Malik, Lahore Qalanders, Psl Song, Latest, Videos, psl 2021, karachi kings vs peshawar zalmi, psl 2021 song, psl 6, karachi kings song, peshawar zalmi song, wahab riaz vs babar azam

Shift the remaining PSL matches to UAE: Karachi Kings owner
Is PCB moving PSL6 Lahore matches to Karachi?
PSL 2021 postponed after seven coronavirus cases
Qalandars’ COO reveals why PCB decided to postpone PSL 2021
PSL 2021: Three more players test positive for coronavirus
Despite three more Covid-19 cases, PSL 2021 to go ahead
PCB to outsource bio-secure bubble arrangements: reports
About Us   |   Anchor Profiles   |   Online Advertising   |   Contact Us   |   Feedback   |   Apps   |   FAQs   |   Authors   |   Comment Policy
Facebook   |   Twitter   |   Instagram   |   YouTube   |   WhatsApp