Monday, August 26, 2019  | 24 Zilhaj, 1440 | BETA
Samaa TV
Facebook Twitter Youtube
HOME > Sports

Imran Khan leads Cricinfo’s all-time World Cup team

April 25, 2019

Photo: AFP

Pakistan’s cricketing legend Imran Khan is named as the skipper of ESPNcricinfo’s all-time World Cup XI.

The squad includes a list of legends from the yesteryear. Imran Khan, who led the Men in Green in the 1992 edition of world championship, is one of two Pakistani players in the team.

The opening pair consists of Adam Gilchrist (Australia) and Sachin Tendulkar (India). Ricky Ponting (Australia) comes in at number three followed by Sir Vivian Richards (West Indies).

Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka) bats at number five whereas skipper Imran Khan (Pakistan) and Lance Klusener (South Africa) make up the lower middle order.

The bowlers are Wasim Akram (Pakistan), Shane Warne (Australia), Muttiah Muralitharan (Sri Lanka) and Glenn McGrath (Australia).



  1. Avatar
    Fahad   April 25, 2019 12:42 pm/ Reply

    What an honor. IK still as Kaptaaaaaaaaan!

  2. Avatar
    Muhammad Sharique   April 29, 2019 1:43 pm/ Reply

    Miandad in place of Sangakkara as he was the backbone of 92 world cup winner team and Sanga never ended up winning the cup. Also Miandad’s world cup record is very much competitive. And Brett Lee in place of Klusener. Brett Lee played vital role in Australia’s WC successes with very impressive record. Klusener was only star in ’99.

Tell us what you think:

Your email address will not be published.