HOME > Cricket

Wasim Akram, Waqar Younis and Yasir Shah to receive civil awards on Pakistan Day

March 12 , 2019

Photo Courtesy: Pakistan Cricket Board

Cricketers Wasim Akram, Waqar Younis and Yasir Shah will receive civil awards on Pakistan Day (March 23) this year.

“Wasim and Waqar will be bestowed with the Hilal-e-Imtiaz, the second highest civilian award after Nishan-e-Pakistan, while Yasir Shah will be awarded Sitara-e-Imtiaz, the third highest civilian award, by the President of Pakistan Dr Arif Alvi on March 23,” a release by Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) said.

The PCB went on to state that the Wasim Akram and Waqar Younis are respected commentators and have played their role in enhancing the image of Pakistan and cricket as broadcasters while Yasir has had a lion’s share in Pakistan’s major Test wins in the recent past.

Related: Yasir becomes fastest to 200 Test wickets

Wasim and Waqar have been conferred with the Pride of Performance awards in 1992 and 1995, respectively.

Wasim bagged 414 Tests and 502 ODIs wickets in his career which spanned from 1984 to 2003, while Waqar claimed 373 Test and 416 ODI wickets in his 14-year international career. They have been inducted in the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame as well.

Yasir Shah has 203 and 19 wickets in 35 Tests and 19 ODIs, respectively, after emerging in the international circuit in 2011. He became the quickest bowler to take 200 Test wickets last year.

Follow SAMAA Sports on Facebook and Twitter


Tell us what you think:

Your email address will not be published.