Women’s World T20: Pakistan, India, Windies in action on opening day

November 9, 2018

Photo: Courtesy ICC

The 2018 edition of the Women’s World Twenty20 will begin on Sunday with three matches scheduled on the opening day.

The tournament will kick off at 8pm PST with India playing against New Zealand. Pakistan will take on former champions Australia in the second game of the day at 1am PST.

Hosts and defending champions West Indies will play against Bangladesh at 5am PST.

All the matches will be played in Guyana.

Ten teams are taking part in the competition. Pakistan, Australia, West Indies, England, India, Sri Lanka, West Indies and New Zealand had automatically qualified for the tournament.

Bangladesh and Ireland qualified after playing a qualifier tournament.

Related: Javeria praises ICC for making the Women’s World T20 a standalone event

Group A comprises of England, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies and Bangladesh while Pakistan, Australia, India, New Zealand and Ireland are place in Group B.

The top two teams in the group stage will qualify for the semifinals which will be played on November 22.

The final will be contested on November 24.


Tell us what you think:

Your email address will not be published.