Tuesday, October 19, 2021  | 12 Rabiulawal, 1443
Samaa TV
Facebook Twitter Youtube
HOME > Sports

10 sports stars who became politicians

Samaa Digital lists down 10 sports stars who have had a political career as well

SAMAA | - Posted: Jul 18, 2018 | Last Updated: 3 years ago
Posted: Jul 18, 2018 | Last Updated: 3 years ago

Samaa Digital lists down 10 sports stars who have had a political career as well

Throughout history, we have seen many sports stars trying out their luck in politics. Some athletes went on to join political parties and were elected into their countries’ respective parliaments.

The environment in Pakistan is politically charged as there’s barely a week left for the elections on July 25. SAMAA Digital has compiled a list of 10 sportsmen who became ‘political’.

  1. Imran Khan

The Pakistani cricketer founded the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI). He has been elected to the National Assembly and his party formed a majority in Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa in the 2013 elections. The all-rounder is aiming to win the general elections this time around.

Photo: AFP

  1. Pele

The Brazilian football star was named ‘Extraordinary Minister for Sport’ in 1995. He proposed a law that made professional sports clubs bound to observe business law and pay tax within two years.

Photo: AFP

  1. Arnold Schwarzenegger

The actor, bodybuilder and fitness expert served as the 38th governor of California from 2003 to 2011.

Photo: AFP

  1. Mohammad Azharuddin

The former Indian cricket captain, who led his side in the 1996 World Cup, was elected in the 2009 elections in India on the ticket of the Indian National Congress. He has said that he will contest the elections in 2019 as well.

Photo: AFP

  1. Navjot Singh Sidhu

The Indian batsman went on to join the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) after winning the Lok Sabha elections from Amritsar in 2014.

Photo: AFP

  1. Zico

The football star from Brazil became the sports minister in 1990. He introduced reforms seeking to improve the status of Brazilian football in his tenure.

Photo: AFP

  1. Hakan Sukur

Turkey’s all-time record scorer was elected to power on the ticket of the Justice and Development Party in 2011 after retiring from the sport. He resigned from the party but stayed as an independent parliamentarian. However, he was accused of being a member of an armed terror group following his fallout with Turkish President Reccep Tayyip Erdogan on social media.

Photo: AFP

  1. Romario de Souza

The Brazilian striker became a senator following the 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil. He was elected to the country’s Chamber of Deputies where he tried to lobby against the country’s decision to host the FIFA World Cup four years ago.

Photo: AFP

  1. Sanath Jayasuriya

The Sri Lankan batting legend served as a deputy local government and rural development minister for a period of 16 days.

Photo: AFP

  1. Idi Amin

Famously known as a ruthless dictator of Uganda, Idi Amin was quite a sportsman before entered politics. He was a national lightweight boxing champion from 1951 to 1960, an excellent rugby player and swimmer.

Photo Courtesy: AFP

FaceBook WhatsApp

Comments are closed.

FaceBook WhatsApp

About Us   |   Anchor Profiles   |   Online Advertising   |   Contact Us   |   Feedback   |   Apps   |   FAQs   |   Authors   |   Comment Policy
Facebook   |   Twitter   |   Instagram   |   YouTube   |   WhatsApp