Tuesday, September 22, 2020  | 3 Safar, 1442
Samaa TV
Facebook Twitter Youtube
HOME > Sports

Cricket: Indian pacer Bumrah earns maiden Test call-up

SAMAA | - Posted: Dec 4, 2017 | Last Updated: 3 years ago
Posted: Dec 4, 2017 | Last Updated: 3 years ago
Cricket: Indian pacer Bumrah earns maiden Test call-up

New Delhi: India’s national selectors on Monday handed a maiden Test spot to promising fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah in a 17-member squad for the upcoming tour of South Africa.

Bumrah, 23, was rewarded with a place in the Indian Test squad, ranked number one in the world, after taking 52 wickets from 28 one-day internationals.

The bowler would boost India’s pace quartet of Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma and Umesh Yadav on seamer friendly tracks in South Africa.

Dashing all-rounder Hardik Pandya returned to the squad after opting out of the ongoing three-Test series against Sri Lanka over workload worries.

Pandya, 24, has become a key member of the Virat Kohli-led side since making his limited-overs debut last year. He has played in 30 of India’s last 33 matches.

Wicketkeeper Parthiv Patel also earned a recall, having last played against England in December last year.

India will play three Tests, six one-dayers and three T20 matches during the tour of South Africa which will kick off with a warm-up game in Paarl on December 30.

Selectors meanwhile rested star batsman Kohli for the three-match Twenty20 series against Sri Lanka starting on December 20, keeping in mind the gruelling tour of South Africa.

India’s Test squad for South Africa: Virat Kohli (captain), Murali Vijay, K. L. Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Parthiv Patel, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammad Shami, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah.

India’s squad for T20 series against Sri Lanka: Rohit Sharma (captain), K. L. Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Jasprit Bumrah, M. Siraj, Basil Thampi, Jaydev Unadkat. – AFP

FaceBook WhatsApp

Tell us what you think:

Your email address will not be published.

FaceBook WhatsApp

About Us   |   Anchor Profiles   |   Online Advertising   |   Contact Us   |   Feedback   |   Apps   |   FAQs   |   Authors   |   Comment Policy
Facebook   |   Twitter   |   Instagram   |   YouTube   |   WhatsApp