Monday, January 24, 2022  | 20 Jamadilakhir, 1443
Samaa TV
Facebook Twitter Youtube
HOME > Sports

BPL 2017: Rangpur Riders beat Rajshahi Kings by 6 wickets

SAMAA | - Posted: Nov 4, 2017 | Last Updated: 4 years ago
Posted: Nov 4, 2017 | Last Updated: 4 years ago

SYLHET: Rangpur Riders beat Rajshahi Kings by six wickets in the second match of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) at Sylhet International Cricket Stadium on Saturday evening. 

Mohammad Mithun (46) and Shahriar Nafees (35) laid the foundation for veteran England player Ravi Bopara (39) and Sri Lankan all-rounder Thisara Perera (20) to chase down the 155-run target with seven balls to go and six wickets in hand.

Earlier, disciplined bowling performance helped Rangpur Riders restrict Rajshahi Kings to 154/8.

Rony Talukdar top scored for Rajshahi with 47 runs while skipper Darren Sammy and New Zealand all-rounder James Franklin made 29 and 26 runs each to help their side to set a fighting target.

Lasith Malinga and Nazmul Islam bagged two wickets each.

Rangpur Riders skipper Mashrafe Mortaza won the toss and chose to bowl first against Rajshahi Kings. .

The second match of the Bangladesh cricket league will be played on the same surface as the first match earlier in the day.

Mashrafe said the dew expected later in the evening and that is why he chose to field first.

He said: “Anything around 150-160 will be a good total”

Former West Indian skipper Darren Sammy will lead Rajshahi, after the St Lucian took over captaincy duties from Mushfiqur Rahim this season, to take some burden off Bangladesh’s Test captain.

Also read: Sylhet Sixers thrash Dhaka Dynamites in opening BPL clash

“We wanted to bat anyway,” he said at the toss. “We have some explosive batsmen, and we are excited to get going.”


Rajshahi Kings

Luke Wright,  Mominul Haque, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Rony Talukdar, Samit Patel, Darren Sammy (capt),  James Franklin, Farhad Reza,  Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Nihad uz Zaman and Kesrick Williams

Rangpur Riders

Shahriar Nafees, Adam Lyth, Johnson Charles, Ravi Bopara, Thisara Perera, Mithun Ali, Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), Rubel Hossain, Sohag Gazi, Nazmul Hossain and Lasith Malinga

FaceBook WhatsApp

Tell us what you think:

Your email address will not be published.

FaceBook WhatsApp

About Us   |   Anchor Profiles   |   Online Advertising   |   Contact Us   |   Feedback   |   Apps   |   FAQs   |   Authors   |   Comment Policy
Facebook   |   Twitter   |   Instagram   |   YouTube   |   WhatsApp