Saturday, July 11, 2020  | 19 ZUL-QAADAH, 1441
Samaa TV
Facebook Twitter Youtube
HOME > Sports

PSL 2017: Islamabad beat Peshawar by five wickets

SAMAA | - Posted: Feb 19, 2017 | Last Updated: 3 years ago
Posted: Feb 19, 2017 | Last Updated: 3 years ago
PSL 2017: Islamabad beat Peshawar by five wickets


SHARJAH: Islamabad United defeated Peshawar Zalmi by five wickets in the 12th match of Pakistan Super League (PSL) at Sharjah Cricket Stadium on Saturday.

Islamabad United’s opener Dwayne Smith played an outstanding inning for 72 runs.

Fast bowler Mohammad Sami received the Man of the Match award for his brilliant performance. He took three wickets for 26 runs.

This was the third victory for Islamabad United, while Peshawar Zalmi have won two match so far in the league.


Mohammad Sami (3/26), Shadab Khan (2/26) and Ruman Raees (2/19) grabbed seven wickets between them as Islamabad United restricted Peshawar Zalmi to 136 in their 20 overs in a match of Pakistan Super League.

Eoin Morgan was the top scorer for Zalmi with run-a-ball 28 while skipper Darren Sammy and Wahab Riaz also chipped in with 20 and 23 runs respectively. The Peshawar side kept losing wickets regularly and failed to build any momentum for a big total.

Earlier, Islamabad United skipper Misbah ul Haq won the toss and elected to bowl first against Peshawar Zalmi.

Islamabad United have made three changes, bringing in Amad Butt, Rumman Raees and Rafatullah Mohmand. Imran Khalid Saeed Ajmal are not playing.

Peshawar Zalmi are unchanged.


Zalmi is second on the point table having “5” points and “+0.457” NET RR. Whereas Islamabad United has managed to get number. 4th position with “4” points having lowest NET RR of “-0.161”.

Earlier Islamabad United beat Karachi Kings in thrilling match by 5 wickets in 10th T20 at Sharjah cricket stadium on Thursday.

In the last match on Friday Peshawar Zalmi and Quetta Gladiators shared points after their Pakistan Super League (PSL) match was abandoned due to incessant rain at Sharjah in UAE.


At one stage, Gladiators were to chase a target of 55 runs in 36 balls in the rain-shortened match but the rain returned prompting umpires to call off the match entirely.


Islamabad United: Dwayne Smith, Sam Billings, Brad Haddin (wk), Misbah-ul-Haq (capt), Shane Watson, Rafatullah Mohmand, Shadab Khan, Amad Butt, Mohammad Sami, Mohammad Irfan, Rumman Raees

Peshawar Zalmi: Tamim Iqbal, Mohammad Hafeez, Kamran Akmal (wk), Eoin Morgan, Sohaib Maqsood, Shahid Afridi, Shakib Al Hasan, Darren Sammy (capt), Junaid Khan, Hasan Ali, Wahab Riaz


FaceBook WhatsApp

Tell us what you think:

Your email address will not be published.

FaceBook WhatsApp

About Us   |   Anchor Profiles   |   Online Advertising   |   Contact Us   |   Feedback   |   Apps   |   FAQs   |   Authors   |   Comment Policy
Facebook   |   Twitter   |   Instagram   |   YouTube   |   WhatsApp