Monday, October 21, 2019  | 21 Safar, 1441 | BETA
Samaa TV
Facebook Twitter Youtube
HOME > Sports

PSL 2017: Gladiators, Zalmi share points as rain-hit match called off

February 17, 2017
PSL 2017: Gladiators, Zalmi share points as rain-hit match called off

9 -WS

SHARJAH: Peshawar Zalmi and Quetta Gladiators shared points on Friday after their Pakistan Super League (PSL) match was abandoned due to incessant rain at Sharjah in UAE.

At one stage, Gladiators were to chase a target of 55 runs in 36 balls in the rain-shortened match but the rain returned prompting umpires to call off the match entirely.

Earlier, Quetta Gladiators won the toss and elected to bowl first against Peshawar Zalmi. Zalmi were off to to a flying start making 28 runs in just 3.4 overs with all wickets intact before the rain stopped the play.

50-RUNS 123

When the match resumed, Peshawar Zalmi managed to score 117 runs in 16 overs. Tamim Iqbal played unbeatable innings of 62 runs of 46 balls.

This was the first time these both team have came across with each other through out the tournament.


Peshawar Zalmi are leading the points table with the “4” points with NET RR +0.457, where as Quetta Gladiators are lacking behind with low NET RR “+0.135”

In the previous match, Peshawar Zalmi beat Lahore Qalandars by 3 wickets in a low-scoring thriller. Where as Quetta Gladiators lost the last match by 5 wickets against Islamabad United.



Peshawar Zalmi: 
Darren Sammy (captain), Shahid Afridi, Sohaib Maqsood, Eoin Morgan, Wahab Riaz, Tilakaratne Dilshan, Mohammad Hafeez, Chris Jordan, Samit Patel, Kamran Akmal, Iftikhar Ahmed, Harris Sohail, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Asghar, Marlon Samuels, Andre Fletcher, Khushdil Shah, Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal, Imran Khan (jr), Junaid Khan, M. Irfan Khan

Quetta Gladiators:
Sarfraz Ahmed (captain), Umar Gul, Asad Shafiq, Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Nawaz, Kevin Pietersen, Luke Wright, Rilee Rossouw, Mahmudullah Riyad, Anwar Ali, Tymal Mills, Hassan Khan, Nathan McCullum, Thisara Perera, Bismillah Khan, Mir Hamza, Zulfiqar Babar, Saad Nasim, Umar Amin, Noor Wali


Tell us what you think:

Your email address will not be published.