Tuesday, January 18, 2022  | 14 Jamadilakhir, 1443
Samaa TV
Facebook Twitter Youtube
HOME > Sports

PSL 2017: Pietersen, Sarfraz star in Quetta Gladiators win over Lahore Qalandars

SAMAA | - Posted: Feb 18, 2017 | Last Updated: 5 years ago
Posted: Feb 18, 2017 | Last Updated: 5 years ago

quetta win

SHARJAH: Kevin Pietersen stuck a blistering half century as Quetta Gladiators defeated Lahore Qalandars by 5 wickets in their match of Pakistan Super League (PSL) at Sharjah Cricket Stadium in UAE on Saturday

Pietersen, who was struggling to make any impact in the earlier stage of the tournament, hit eight 6s and three 4s in his 88 off 42 balls to guide Gladiators to remarkable victory with seven balls to spare and five wickets in hand.

The former England player was ably supported by Gladiators Captain Sarfraz Ahmed who made a 25-ball 45 runs hitting three 6s and as many 4s. Rile Rossouw also chipped in with 33 runs.

This is the second time Quetta Gladiators have chased down 200 plus target against Lahore Qalandars in the PSL.


Earlier, Jason Roy smashed a 26-run fifty and Fakhar Zaman struck 47 from 31 balls as Lahore Qalandars became the first team of the Pakistan Super League to hit 200 in the second edition.

Roy struck three 6s and six 4s in his 52 and Zaman hit one 6 and six 4s to give Qalandars a flying start before Mohammad Rizwan (46) and Cameron Delport (35) lifted the team’s total to 200 in 20 overs.

It is noted here Quetta Gladiators Captain Sarfraz Ahmed won the toss and elected to bowl first against Lahore Qalandars.

lahore qalandars

Sent into bat first, Qalandars were off to a blistering start, greeting the Gladiators bowlers with fours and sixes from the word go.

Quetta has made on change in their side, bringing in Saad Naseem in place of struggling opener Asad Shafiq. Kevin Pietersen has retained his spot in the side despite being in poor form.

In Lahore Qalandars, Cameron Delport has comes in for Grant Elliott.

Teams Standings


Quetta Gladiators Team: Quetta: Saad Nasim, Ahmed Shehzad, Kevin Pietersen, Rilee Rossouw, Sarfraz Ahmed(capt. &wk), Mahmudullah, Thisara Perera, Mohammad Nawaz, Anwar Ali, Hasan Khan, Zulfiqar Babar

LAHORE QALANDARS: JJ Roy, BB McCullum*, Fakhar Zaman, CS Delport, Umar Akmal, Mohammad Rizwan†, SP Narine, Sohail Tanvir, Bilawal Bhatti, Mohammad Irfan (4), Yasir Shah, Azhar Ali, JEC Franklin, Ghulam Mudassar, CJ Green, Usman Qadir, GD Elliott, Aamer Yamin

FaceBook WhatsApp

Tell us what you think:

Your email address will not be published.

FaceBook WhatsApp

About Us   |   Anchor Profiles   |   Online Advertising   |   Contact Us   |   Feedback   |   Apps   |   FAQs   |   Authors   |   Comment Policy
Facebook   |   Twitter   |   Instagram   |   YouTube   |   WhatsApp