ToRs committee meeting ends in deadlock

May 27, 2016
Samaa Web Desk
Share on Facebook

ISLAMABAD: Parliamentary committee on Panama Papers investigation met here Friday to formally discuss Terms of References for proposed commission, but the meeting ended in a deadlock as government and opposition members differed over exclusion of Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif’s name, Samaa reported.

Speaking to reporters after the meeting, opposition leaders Senator Aitzaz Ahsan and Shah Mehmood Qureshi said the talks did not make any headway due to deadlock.

Aitzaz Ahsan dismissed media reports that opposition has agreed to exclude Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif’s name from the inquiry.

“Media reports are baseless that we (opposition) have agreed to exclude prime minister’s name, I clarify that no such proposal or offer for immunity to PM is agreed upon,” said Aitzaz Ahsan, who is a senior PPP leader, accompanied by other committee members.

He said the PM should face accountability as guardian of his children who have featured in Panama Papers. “We are convinced that the accountability should begin from Nawaz Sharif’s family.”

He said the opposition presented its 15 questions in today’s meeting, but the government side did not completely agreed. “Our ToRs are comprehensive and we will remain stick to our 15 questions.”

Aitzaz Ahsan also that dismissed impression of differences among opposition parties, saying that “we all are united and will not succumb to pressure.”

On the occasion, Qureshi said that the two sides did not move ahead even a single inch. “Neither had we moved ahead a single inch nor the opposition is going to back down a single inch,” he asserted.

“We will do a complete accord not partial,” Qureshi said, and warned that if government did not accept the 15 points the opposition would refuse all preambles discussed in previous meetings.

In its second meeting yesterday, the committee agreed in principle on preamble of the ToRs.

The committee comprises six members each from government and opposition.

The opposition is represented by Senator Aitzaz Ahsan, Barrister Muhammad Ali Saif, Senator Ilyas Ahmad Bilour, MNAs Tariq Bashir Cheema, Sahibzada Tariqullah and Shah Mehmood Qureshi.

The government is represented by Senator Ishaq Dar, Khawaja Asif, Khawaja Saad Rafiq and Mr Bizenjo attended the meeting from the government side. Anusha Rehman and Akram Khan Durrani.  - Samaa
Published in Pakistan

Story first published: 27th May 2016


Click to Comment

Your email address will not be published.