Sunday, March 7, 2021  | 22 Rajab, 1442
Samaa TV
Facebook Twitter Youtube
HOME > Pakistan

PPP’s Ameer Jillani sweeps Tharparkar NA-221 by-polls

He received 103,502 votes

SAMAA | - Posted: Feb 22, 2021 | Last Updated: 2 weeks ago
Posted: Feb 22, 2021 | Last Updated: 2 weeks ago

PPP's Pir Ameer Ali Shah Jillani has won the Tharparkar NA-221 by-election with 103,502 votes, according to the unofficial and unverified results.

PTI candidate Nizamuddin Rahimoon came in second.

Polling for the National Assembly seat began 8am and continued until 5pm. A total of 4,000 police officers and security personnel were stationed at 318 polling stations across the district.

Multiple incidents of violence and chaos were reported during the polling process.

At 12pm, PTI candidate Nizamuddin Rahimoon tweeted that a blast took place at the Kesrar polling station "under police supervision". 

"My agents have been arrested and my voters are being chased away, but the people of Tharparkar will ensure that the truth wins," he said, demanding that the ECP and Prime Minister Imran Khan take notice of the incident.

At 10:05am, a polling station in Dahli was set on fire due to which ballot papers and boxes were reduced to ashes. According to the police, a fight broke out between PTI and PPP supporters.

Additional contingents of police and Rangers were deployed and the fire was doused. Three PTI supporters were detained.

Here's what we know about Tharparkar's NA-221 and its contenders:

Tharparkar's NA-221 fell vacant after the death of PPP leader Noor Muhammad Shah Jillani, who had contracted coronavirus.

He was elected MNA from the constituency in the 2018 General Elections after bagging 61,903 votes.

This year, 12 candidates were contesting for the elections. A tough competition was expected between PPP's Ameer Ali Shah Jillani and PTI's Nizamuddin Rahimoon.

According to the ECP, a total of 281,900 voters have been registered in the constituency. At least 318 polling stations have been set up. Ninety-five polling stations have been declared "sensitive" and 13 "highly sensitive".

Rangers personnel were deployed outside these polling stations and CCTV cameras installed inside 200 stations.


Tell us what you think:

Your email address will not be published.

Tharparkar by-elections, tharparkar voting, tharparkar polling station on fire, tharparkar pol;ling station ablaze, tharparkar NA-221, by-elections

COVID-19 vaccine updates in Pakistan and around the world
Karachi water supply to be disrupted for 72 hours: KWSB
Three PTI MPAs have gone missing in Karachi: Khurram Zaman
PM Imran Khan wins National Assembly’s confidence
Islamabad murder: Protesters block Murree Road
Pakistani drug lords take Nigerian mafia for a ride
Indian airplane makes emergency landing in Karachi
About Us   |   Anchor Profiles   |   Online Advertising   |   Contact Us   |   Feedback   |   Apps   |   FAQs   |   Authors   |   Comment Policy
Facebook   |   Twitter   |   Instagram   |   YouTube   |   WhatsApp