Saturday, July 11, 2020  | 19 ZUL-QAADAH, 1441
Samaa TV
Facebook Twitter Youtube
HOME > Local

1979-2019: Who all controlled Karachi?

SAMAA | - Posted: Apr 17, 2019 | Last Updated: 1 year ago
Posted: Apr 17, 2019 | Last Updated: 1 year ago
1979-2019: Who all controlled Karachi?

Karachi is all set to get its fifth deputy mayor in the 24 years since the local government system is in place.

The person elected as deputy mayor after the elections tomorrow (Thursday) will be paid a monthly salary of Rs40,000, including all allowances.

The Muttahida Qaumi Movement and Jamaat-e-Islami parties have ruled over the City District Government Karachi (CDGK) system for four decades. MQM has held the key of the city government three times while JI has represented the people of Karachi twice.

JI veteran leader Abdul Sattar Afghani served as the mayor for two consecutive tenures from 1979 to 1983 and from 1983 to 1987.

Related: KMC to close on Thursday for deputy mayor’s election

In 1988, the post of deputy mayor was introduced. MQM’s Dr Farooq Sattar was elected for four years as the city’s youngest mayor in the same local bodies election that year. He was 28 years old. Abdul Razik Khan became the deputy mayor.

In the 1992-2001 period, the administrative system was implemented in the country and the Sindh Local Government Ordinance, 2001 was introduced under Musharraf’s rule. JI veteran leader Advocate Niamatullah Khan was elected as the mayor with Tariq Hasan as the deputy mayor from 2001 to 2005. The MQM boycotted the polls.

Mustafa Kamal was elected as the mayor next in 2005 with Nasreen Jalil as the deputy mayor.

The administrative system came into practice for the second time from 2010 to 2015 and bureaucrats looked after civic bodies as “KMC administrators.”

Related: Karachi deputy mayor election Thursday

By the end of 2015, the first party based local bodies elections under the Sindh Local Government Act, 2013 were held in which MQM’s

Wasim Akhtar and Dr Arshad Abdullah Vohra won the polls.

Dr Vohra, however, was disqualified by the Election Commission of Pakistan on March 13 as he left his party and joined the Pak Sarzameen Party led by former mayor Mustafa Kamal. The then MQM-P convener Dr Farooq Sattar had approached ECP for Dr Vohra’s disqualification after he switched loyalties on October 29, 2017. The de-seated PSP leader has filed a petition against ECP’s decision in the Islamabad High Court.

MQM-P’s Arshad Hasan and PPP’s Karamullah Waqasi will now compete for the slot.

Follow SAMAA English on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram.

FaceBook WhatsApp

Tell us what you think:

Your email address will not be published.

FaceBook WhatsApp

About Us   |   Anchor Profiles   |   Online Advertising   |   Contact Us   |   Feedback   |   Apps   |   FAQs   |   Authors   |   Comment Policy
Facebook   |   Twitter   |   Instagram   |   YouTube   |   WhatsApp