Sunday, October 17, 2021  | 10 Rabiulawal, 1443
Samaa TV
Facebook Twitter Youtube
HOME > News

Sikandar Sultan Raja is the new chief election commissioner

The post fell vacant on Dec 5

SAMAA | - Posted: Jan 21, 2020 | Last Updated: 2 years ago
Posted: Jan 21, 2020 | Last Updated: 2 years ago

Photo: File

Sikander Sultan Raja has been named as the new chief election commissioner after the government and opposition reached consensus on the matter.

Nisar Durrani has been appointed as an ECP member from Sindh and Shah Mohammad Jatoi as Balochistan member.

The names were decided during a meeting of the parliamentary committee on the appointment of the chief election commissioner on Tuesday.

The notification has been issued by Shireen Mazari, who was the chairperson of the committee.

The names have been forwarded to Prime Minister Imran Khan.

The post fell vacant after the retirement of Justice (retired) Sardar Raza Khan on December 5, 2019. Justice (retired) Altaf Ibrahim Qureshi took oath as the acting chief election commissioner the next day.

The government and opposition parties have met at least a dozen times over the past 45 days to reach a consensus on the name for the new CEC.

FaceBook WhatsApp

Tell us what you think:

Your email address will not be published.

FaceBook WhatsApp


Inside Karachi’s Green line bus service
FIA raids National Bank head office, arrests VP
Karachi Barclays scam: Three get 14 years each in jail
Woman gives birth to septuplets in Abbottabad
NAB summons Zardari’s political secretary for buying dollars
Tarin says govt compelled by IMF to raise petrol price
T20 World Cup, PPP Karachi rally, ISI chief appointment
Sheikh Rasheed calls opposition stupid, fires back at Maryam
About Us   |   Anchor Profiles   |   Online Advertising   |   Contact Us   |   Feedback   |   Apps   |   FAQs   |   Authors   |   Comment Policy
Facebook   |   Twitter   |   Instagram   |   YouTube   |   WhatsApp