Friday, December 6, 2019  | 8 Rabiulakhir, 1441
Samaa TV
Facebook Twitter Youtube
HOME > News

NA-249 re-polling: Shahzain Bugti sweeps Dera Bugti election

November 18, 2019
NA-249 re-polling: Shahzain Bugti sweeps Dera Bugti election

Photo: Online

According to unofficial and unverified results, Shahzain Bugti of the Jamhoori Watan Party swept the re-elections in Dera Bugti. 

Polling began on Dera Bugti’s NA-249 on Sunday after the Election Tribunal declared that the votes at 29 polling stations needed to be recast.

The seat was won by Shahzain Bugti in the 2018 General Elections but was challenged in the election tribunal by independent candidate Tariq Khetran. He had first filed an appeal in the Election Commission of Pakistan but it was rejected.

He then approached the Supreme Court, which ordered an election tribunal to look into the matter.

Areas where votes were recast include Dera Bugti, Kohlu, Barkhan, Sibi and Lehri. Levies, police, FC and Pakistan Army personnel were at polling stations to ensure security.

According to unverified and unofficial results, Shahzain Bugti got 19,133 votes while his opponent bagged 2,500 votes.

There were 111 polling booths set up for the election–65 for men and 46 for women. A total of 47,269 voters case their ballots.

Follow SAMAA English on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram.


Tell us what you think:

Your email address will not be published.


Student solidarity March, Karachi, Pakistan, PSF, University, Education, Student Union