Wednesday, September 18, 2019  | 18 Muharram, 1441 | BETA
Samaa TV
Facebook Twitter Youtube
HOME > Politics

PPP decides to identify senators who betrayed in Senate vote

August 2, 2019

The Pakistan Peoples Party has decided to identify the senators who betrayed the party in the no-confidence vote against Senate Chairman Sadiq Sanjrani, party members said Friday.

On Thursday, the joint opposition failed to get its no-confidence motion against Sanjrani passed by the Upper House.

Sanjrani retained his seat after only 50 senators voted against him despite 64 senators asking for a vote. The opposition needed at least 53 votes to de-seat him.

PPP co-chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari gave on Friday a go-ahead for the formation of a fact-finding committee to identify the senators who betrayed in the vote, Bilawal’s spokesman Mustafa Nawaz Khokhar said.

He said the fact-finding committee will comprise PPP members from all the provinces.

Khokhar said a notification in this regard will be issued on Saturday.

Follow SAMAA English on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram.


Tell us what you think:

Your email address will not be published.

Khawaja Saad Rafique, Khwaja brothers, paragon housing scheme, nab, judicial remand