Tuesday, April 20, 2021  | 7 Ramadhan, 1442
Samaa TV
Facebook Twitter Youtube
HOME > Politics

CEC excuses himself from administering oath to new ECP members

Says their appointment was unconstitutional

SAMAA | - Posted: Aug 24, 2019 | Last Updated: 2 years ago
Posted: Aug 24, 2019 | Last Updated: 2 years ago
CEC excuses himself from administering oath to new ECP members

Photo: Anadolu Agency

Chief Election Commissioner Sardar Muhammad Raza Khan has excused himself from administering the oath two new Election Commission members appointed by the president.

They said that their appointment was in violation of the Constitution.

On Thursday, the government issued a notification that Khalid Mehmood Siddiqui has been appointed as a member from Sindh while Munir Ahmed Khan Kakar from Balochistan.

Senator Raza Rabbani said that the CEC did the right thing. He accused President Arif Alvi of violating the 18th Amendment.

Related: PPP, PML-N condemn government’s ‘illegal’ appointment of ECP members

Parliamentary Affairs Minister Azam Swati said that it can’t be said that the new members were appointed illegally. “It is sad that the chief election commissioner didn’t administer the oath to the new members,” he remarked, adding that the accusations he has levelled will be investigated.

The two posts have been lying vacant since January 26, after the retirement of Abdul Ghaffar Soomro and Justice (retd) Shakeel Baloch. The law requires that the posts be filled in 45 days.

The opposition criticised the government over its failure to reach a consensus on the appointments. In March, the prime minister submitted three names each for the vacancies to Leader of the Opposition Shehbaz Sharif. He nominated former sessions judge Amanullah Baloch, lawyer Kakar and businessperson Mir Naveed Jan Baloch for Balochistan. For Sindh, he suggested the names of Siddiqui, a lawyer, former high court judge Farrukh Zia Sheikh and former Sindh IG Iqbal Mehmood.

Related: ECP issues show-cause notice to PM for violating election rules

The government, however, amended its list and proposed the names of former Balochistan advocate general Dr Salahuddin Mengal, former additional advocate general Mahmud Raza Khan, and former NAB prosecutor Raja Aamir Abbasi for Balochistan. For Sindh, it suggested former judge Mohammad Nadeem Qureshi and justices (retd) Abdul Rasool Memon and Noorul Haq Qureshi.

Responding to this, the opposition amended its list of candidates too. Their list included the names of three out of the six nominees dropped by the government.

The two lists were exchanged on June 14 during a meeting of a parliamentary committee on ECP appointments. A meeting was held again on June 19 to finalise the names but no consensus could be reached.

Follow SAMAA English on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram.

FaceBook WhatsApp

Tell us what you think:

Your email address will not be published.

FaceBook WhatsApp


Bushra Zaidi – a case that changed Karachi by accident
Pakistan unblocks WhatsApp, Twitter, Facebook after 4hrs
Two TLP supporters killed in clash with Lahore police
TLP ends Lahore sit-in as govt accedes to demands
Pakistan to ban Tehreek-e-Labbaik Pakistan: Sheikh Rasheed
About Us   |   Anchor Profiles   |   Online Advertising   |   Contact Us   |   Feedback   |   Apps   |   FAQs   |   Authors   |   Comment Policy
Facebook   |   Twitter   |   Instagram   |   YouTube   |   WhatsApp