Bilawal and Murad’s names to be removed from the no-fly list


The federal cabinet approved on Thursday the removal of Bilawal Bhutto Zardari and Sindh CM Murad Ali Shah’s names from the Exit Control List.

The Supreme Court has ordered the government to take the names of PPP Chairperson Bilawal Bhutto Zardari and Sindh Chief Minister Murad Ali Shah off the ECL immediately. Their names were included in a money laundering and fake accounts case being investigated by the FIA.

Related: SC wants the centre to strike off names of Bilawal and Murad Ali Shah from the no-fly list

The court came down hard on the government for putting the names of the incumbent chief minister as well as Bilawal on the list without the court’s approval.

PM’s Special Assistant on Accountability Shahzad Akbar remarked that the names have been removed from the no-fly list and not the investigation itself. He said that the cabinet decided to send the investigation team’s report on money laundering and fake bank accounts case to NAB.

Related: PM Imran Khan’s cabinet strength increases to 42

The report states that kickbacks were taken and money laundering occurred, he said. The investigating team will assist NAB in its investigation. NAB can file 16 references based on the evidence of the investigation team’s report and it has to complete its investigation in two months’ time. The cabinet decided that the cases will be filed in accountability courts in Rawalpindi and Islamabad, rather than Karachi.

Special Assistant to Prime Minister on Media Affairs Iftikhar Durrani said cabinet gave approval for the auction of 15 out of twenty ships of Ministry of National Food Security. A supplementary grant of Rs235 million for government employees who died in service has been approved too.