Tuesday, July 23, 2019  | 19 ZUL-QAADAH, 1440 | BETA
Samaa TV
Facebook Twitter Youtube
HOME > News

PTI’s Mehmood Khan elected KP chief minister

August 16, 2018

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s Mehmood Khan was elected as the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa chief minister on Thursday.

Mehmood, who was elected from PK-9 Swat on the PTI’s ticket, obtained 77 votes, while the opposition’s candidate Mian Nisar received 33 votes.

He was a part of the cabinet in the PTI’s previous government in KP. The PTI came into power after the 2013 general elections. Initially, Mehmood was given the portfolio of the provincial minister for sports and tourism. However, he was removed from the post in 2014 and handed the irrigation ministry.

Who is Mehmood Khan?

Born in 1972 in Swat’s Tehsil Matta, Mehmood Khan received early education from a government school in Khawazakhela. He completed his matriculation and FA from Peshawar Public School. Mehmood went to Peshawar University and eventually got a Master’s degree in agriculture.

He started his political career in 2005 when he took part in the local bodies elections. He was elected as the Nazim of Union Council Kharirai of Tehsil Matta of Swat.

Before the 2013 general elections, Mehmood joined the PTI. He was elected from Swat’s PK-84 on the PTI’s ticket.


Comments are closed.