Monday, July 22, 2019  | 18 ZUL-QAADAH, 1440 | BETA
Samaa TV
Facebook Twitter Youtube
HOME > News

PM finalises names for 20-member federal cabinet

August 18, 2018

Prime Minister Imran Khan has finalised the names of the federal cabinet members and their portfolios after consulting other parties.

There are 15 ministers and five advisors in the cabinet that includes lawmakers from the Muttahida Qaumi Movement and Grand Democratic Alliance, according to our correspondent.

PTI’s Asad Umar will serve as the finance and economic affairs minister.

Senior PTI leader and former foreign minister, Shah Mehmood Qureshi, will manage foreign affairs.

Former KP chief minister, Pervez Khattak, will join the federal cabinet as defence minister.

AML chief, Sheikh Rashid Ahmed, who is a former railways minister, will retain his portfolio.

MQM MNA Farogh Naseem will be the new law and justice minister.

Chaudhry Tariq Bashir Cheema will get the portfolio of state and frontier regions.

PTI’s Dr Shireen Mazari will take charge as minister for human rights.

PTI’s Ghulam Sarwar Khan will join the cabinet as minister for the petroleum division.

Senior PTI leader Shafqat Mahmood will get the portfolios of federal education and professional training and the national heritage and literary heritage division.

Noor Ul Haq Qadri will be minister of religious affairs and interfaith harmony.

Zubaida Jalal, a former education minister, will return to the cabinet as the minister for defence production.

PTI leader Fawad Ahmed Chaudhry will be the minister for information and broadcasting.

Amir Mehmood Kiyani will get the portfolio of national health services, regulations and coordination.

Former National Assembly speaker Fehmida Mirza, who is a Grand Democratic Alliance leader, will get the portfolio of inter-provincial coordination.

MQM’s Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui will be the country’s new minister for IT and telecommunication.

The cabinet members will take oath Monday at President House.

It is not official yet, but there are reports that PM Imran Khan has decided to keep the portfolio of the interior ministry for himself. Other than law and order, the interior ministry oversees the Exit Control List that bans the travel of people named in high-profile criminal cases.

The name for the water and power minister has yet to be announced.

The advisors have been named: Mohammad Shehzad Arab (establishment), Abdul Razak Dawood (commerce, textile, industry and production, investment), Dr. Ishrat Husain (institutional reforms and austerity), Amin Aslam (climate change) and Babar Awan (parliamentary affairs).


Comments are closed.