Tuesday, July 23, 2019  | 19 ZUL-QAADAH, 1440 | BETA
Samaa TV
Facebook Twitter Youtube
HOME > Election

New federal cabinet takes oath at President House

August 20, 2018

President Mamnoon Hussain administered the oath to Prime Minister Imran Khan’s new federal cabinet. The prime minister was present during the ceremony at President House in Islamabad on Monday.

The ceremony began with a recitation of verses of the Holy Quran at 10am.

There are 15 ministers and five advisers in the cabinet.

The PTI’s spokesperson, Fawad Chaudhry, tweeted that the cabinet will meet for its first session after the ceremony.

The PTI’s Pervez Khattak got the portfolio of defence and Asad Umar became the finance minister. Shah Mehmood Qureshi became the foreign affairs minister and Shireen Mazari got the human rights portfolio. Ghulam Sarwar Khan got the petroleum portfolio. Chaudhry is the information minister. Shafqat Mehmood will take care of education, Aamir Kiyani is the health minister and Noorul Haq Qadri has assumed charge of the religious affairs ministry.

Six ministers from parties that have allied with the PTI were also sworn in as part of the cabinet. Sheikh Rasheed, the chief of the Awami Muslim League, became the railways minister. Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui of the MQM was handed the information technology portfolio. The MQM’s Farogh Naseem got the law ministry. The GDA’s Fehmida Mirza became the provincial coordination minister while Tariq Bashir Cheema will take care of the state and frontier regions portfolio. Zubeida Jalal is the defence production minister.

The five advisers are Mohammad Shehzad Arbab for establishment, Abdul Razak Dawood for commerce, textile, industry, production and investment, Dr Ishrat Hussain for institutional reforms and austerity, Amin Aslam for climate change and Babar Awan for parliamentary affairs.

Read this story in Urdu here


Comments are closed.