HOME > Government

Agha Siraj Durrani is the speaker of the Sindh Assembly once again

August 15 , 2018

Agha Siraj Durrani has been elected as the speaker of the Sindh Assembly once again. 

The PPP leader also served as speaker during the 2013 to 2018 term.

He took oath on Wednesday after MPAs voted him in. PPP workers and leaders chanted party slogans after he took oath.

There were 158 MPAs who voted in the election for the speaker. Durrani was elected with 96 votes while opposition candidate Javed Hanif received 59 votes.

The PTI’s governor candidate, Imran Ismail, did not come to vote for the speaker. Three members of the Tehreek-e-Labbaik Pakistan were present in the assembly session but refused to cast their votes.

Rehana Leghari has been elected deputy speaker of the Sindh Assembly. She secured 98 votes out of 158.

Rabia Azfar, a joint opposition candidate, obtained 59 votes against Leghari.


Comments are closed.