Ayaz Sadiq retains Lahore’s NA-129 seat as RO discontinues recount

PML-N leader Sardar Ayaz Sadiq. Photo: AFP

The returning officer for Lahore’s NA-129 discontinued the vote recount process in the constituency. As a result, PML-N leader Ayaz Sadiq retained his victory from the constituency.

“The recount instructions were for constituencies where results were not consolidated,” said the returning officer. “We have sent the completed results to the Election Commission.”

The Election Commission had sent a letter to the returning officer, directing him to recount the ballot papers. The letter states that recount should not be undertaken in case the “consolidation proceedings” have been concluded.

The returning officer told SAMAA TV that they opened 40 bags for a recount, accepting the plea of PTI’s Abdul Aleem Khan. According to him, the tally went up by barely two votes upon opening each bag. The margin was around 10,000 votes, which is why we discontinued the process, said the returning officer.

PML-N leader Ayaz Sadiq has been declared victorious with 103,021 votes. His rival, PTI’s Abdul Aleem Khan, bagged 94,879 votes.