ECP stops nine parliamentarians to cast vote in Senate elections

February 8, 2018

ISLAMABAD: Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Thursday said that nine members of provincial assembly will not be allowed to cast their vote in Senate elections on not submitting their annual details of assets and liabilities with the commission.

According to ECP, these parliamentarians couldn’t participate in senate elections till their membership is restored.

It said that under Section 108 of Election Act 2017, the ECP had sent voters list of members of national and provincial assemblies to the concerned Returning Officers.

It said that all parliamentarians had to submit their annual details of assets and liabilities with the ECP by December 30, 2017 and the commission had suspended the membership of all those parliamentarians who failed to submit these details.

It added these nine suspended members of provincial assembly couldn’t  exercise their right of vote in the Senate elections included Muhammad Ismail Raho, Makhdoom Khalil-ur-Rehman, Sania, Muhammad Kamran, Rukhsana Parveen, Balqees Mukhtar, Irum Azeem Farooqui, Sardar Muhammad Jamal Khan Leghari and Abdul Majeed Niazi. – APP