Abdul Quddus Bizenjo elected new CM Balochistan

January 13, 2018
Samaa Web Desk

QUETTA: Balochistan Assembly Saturday has elected Abdul Quddus Bizenjo as the new leader of the House in Quetta today (Saturday) days after Sanaullah Zehri was forced to step down in a no-confidence motion against him.

The assembly session headed by Speaker Raheela Hameed Durrani began at 11.30 am. Durrani made the formal announcement after Bizenjo bagged 41 votes and Liaquat Agha 13.

Strict security arrangements have been put in place in and around the assembly premises with pickets erected at four locations for security checking.

Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid candidate Abdul Qudoos Bizenjo and Pashtunkhuwa Milli Awami Party member Agha Liaquat vied for the top office of the province.

Abdul Rahim Ziyaratwal, a PkMap candidate, withdrew his nomination from the race.

Bizenjo will now take oath of his office at 5 pm.

Mir Quddus Bizenjo
Mir Quddus Bizenjo had bagged just 544 votes in 2013 general elections.

Bizenjo is a member of the PML-Quaid (PML-Q) and former deputy speaker of the provincial assembly.

Earlier, the PML-N’s dissenters in unison with Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q) and other lawmakers moved the no-confidence motion against Nawab Sanaullah Zehri and managed to get the top post vacated from him.

Later, the group unanimously nominated Bizenjo as a consensus candidate for the office of chief minister.

According to reports, a meager 683 votes were polled in all in his constituency, PB-41 (Awaran)—a turnout of only 1.18 per cent, thanks mainly to bad law and order situation back then.

The remaining votes were grabbed by Hayder Ali of the NP (95 votes) and Hafiz Abdul Khaliq Bizenjo of the JUI-F (18 votes). However, the number of votes obtained by Bizenjo is the lowest in the entire country achieved by any successful candidate in 2013 polls.