Wednesday, November 20, 2019  | 22 Rabiulawal, 1441 | BETA
Samaa TV
Facebook Twitter Youtube
HOME > News

Number of PM’s advisers mounts to 7

August 23, 2017
Number of PM’s advisers mounts to 7

ISLAMABAD: The number of advisers to Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi has risen up to seven after two more were added to the federal cabinet.

The cabinet division issued a notification to this effect. The advisers are Nasir Iqbal Bosal and Haroon Khan.

Earlier, the federal government appointed five special assistants, taking the size of cabinet to 58.

The five assistants include Miftah Ismail, Khawaja Zaheer Ahmed, Barrister Zaffarullah Khan, Senator Asif Kirmani and Mussadiq Malik.

PM Abbasi took oath of his office on August 1, when a 43-member cabinet including 27 federal ministers and 16 ministers of state, was sworn in.

However, the strength of the federal cabinet soared to 47 a few days later, when four new ministers including two federal ministers and two ministers of state took oath at the President House.
The latest addition to the cabinet was of six advisers last week with the status of federal ministers.

Advisers include Lieutenant General (retd) Nasser Janjua as National Security Adviser, Sartaj Aziz as deputy chairman of the Planning Commission, Sardar Mehtab Abbasi, Jam Mashooq Ali, Amir Muqam and Irfan Siddiqui.

When the present government took oath back in 2013, Nawaz Sharif took oath of his office with 25-strong cabinet including advisers and special assistants. The cabinet later bulged to 43 including 21 federal ministers, nine ministers of state, four advisers and nine special assistants to the prime minister. –SAMAA


Tell us what you think:

Your email address will not be published.