PML-N suffers defeat in Jhang by-election

December 1, 2016
Samaa Web Desk

PP 78 Election Jashan Jhang 01-122

JHANG: Independent candidate Maulana Masroor Nawaz Jhangvi won the by-election of Jhang, beating his favourite PML-N rival.

Acording to unofficial results obtained from all polling stations, Jhangvi, who was backed by Ahle Sunnat Wal Jamaat (ASWJ), has bagged 48,562 votes.

PP 78 Election Jashan Jhang 01-12

Surprisingly, PML-N candidate Azad Nasir Ansari, who was being tipped to win the provincial assembly’s seat, stood second with 35,468 votes.

The Punjab Assembly’s constituency had fallen vacant after the Supreme Court disqualified Rashida Yaqoob of the Pakistan Muslim League-N (PML-N) for concealing assets while upholding a decision of an election tribunal in October.

PP 78 Election Jashan Jhang 01-121

She was elected to the assembly in the 2013 general elections and runner-up candidate Mr Ludhianvi had challenged her election.

Then the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) announced that it would hold by-poll in the constituency on Dec 1 for which Mr Ludhianvi as well as Ms Yaqoob also filed their nomination papers. However, this time Ms Yaqoob was an independent candidate. – SAMAA