Another PTI MNA refuses to quit his seat

November 6, 2014

Another PTI MNA refuses to quit his seat

ISLAMABAD: Siraj Muhammad Khan, one of the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf MNAs who had resigned from the National Assembly, has now formally requested Speaker Ayaz Sadiq not to accept his resignation, Samaa reported Thursday.

According to our correspondent, the Speaker has accepted a request of PTI lawmaker Siraj Muhammad Khan who earlier sent an application to the Speaker requesting him not to accept his resignation.

Khan was elected as MNAs from NA-6 constituency of KPK’s Naushera town.

On the directions of party chief Imran Khan, Siraj Muhammad Khan and 30 other MNAs of the PTI lawmakers submitted their collective resignations to the Speaker to press Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif to quit.

Siraj, who is among four PTI MANs who refused to quit their seats, even did not appear last month before the Speaker for confirmation of the resignation, a legal and constitutional requirement.

When contacted, the PTI legislator was noncommittal about his application.

On the other hand, PTI central leader Arif Alvi asserted that any party member who refused to quit the seat as part of the faction’s anti-government campaign would be expelled from the party. – Samaa